Star Wars…Finally!!!

Posted: December 16, 2015 by jperritt in Uncategorized

MV5BMjM4MjI2MDMwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODI2MDgzMzE@._V1__SX1394_SY676_Hello…hello…is this thing on?

So, it’s been months since we’ve posted anything at Reel Thinking.  Sorry about that, but life gets sort of busy. However, if there’s anything that will motivate us at RT to knock some dust of the keyboard and write a new post, it’s Star Wars: The Force Awakens (That opens tomorrow, by the way).

In some ways it seems like the first teaser trailer dropped to the Internet just yesterday. I can remember that I found a quiet spot at my in-laws house to sneak off and watch that uninterrupted over Thanksgiving holidays.  My eyes were amazed at the re-imagined Star Wars universe J.J. Abrams had created.  I can’t wait to see the finished product tomorrow night.

To be honest, I’m bit sad.  I’m not on the verge of tears or anything, but the hype we’ve been enjoying over the past year is about to be over.  It’s sort of like going on a long trip.  Part of the fun of the trip is the anticipation of it.  Living the trip is great, but imagining the trip and anticipating it has its own special feeling.  Tomorrow around 9:30ish that feeling will be over.  My eyes will have seen it.  My ears will have heard light-sabers colliding and blasters firing.  Right now, I haven’t allowed my mind to anticipate too much of the story, but tomorrow it will be realized.

Now of course I plan on seeing the movie twice…possibly three…times in the theater.  So, the story of The Force Awakens will continue to be told on the silver screen and small screen for years to come.  I guess I’m simply trying to say that tomorrow is a unique and special moment for the cinema.  Star Wars!!! A film that’s impossible to grasp its impact on the cinematic world is revisiting screens this weekend.

The fact that I’m going with my father says a lot.  Star Wars is a film that’s united generations in their excitement.  My son turns 6 on December 18 and I plan to take him to see it (I tried to convince him that I got Star Wars made for his birthday…he’s too smart).  Three generations of Perritts viewing SW.

I’m excited to see it.  I’m excited to see it with my father.  I’m excited to see it with my oldest two children.  It may only be a movie, but it’s something special we don’t need to downplay.  It’s an experience that’s global and rarely comes around.

Anyway, there’s not to much to this post other than sharing my excitement (I may share a bit more after viewing, so check back).  I figured that I “owned” a film blog, so I might as well discuss one of the most historic films released.  As Christians we do need to recognize these moments as graces from God.  We sinned against him, yet God still blesses his children with enjoyable moments this side of Heaven. He’s a gracious Father and movies are one of the many blessings that illustrate that.

Comments
  1. […] going to see a Best Picture nomination, just go in expecting to have fun. As I emphasized grace yesterday, be sure to enjoy that aspect. Going to see a movie like this is historic, so it’s a special […]

Leave a Reply

