Movie Musings: Why do we really want to see Jurassic World?

Posted: May 20, 2015 by jperritt in Uncategorized

Jurassic-World-12I don’t know about you, but I’m really looking forward to this movie.  Jurassic Park was the first summer blockbuster I remember seeing in the theater, so my 13-year-old self hopes this will be a worthy reboot.  That being said, we pretty much know what to expect from this film.  Screaming.  Running.  One-liners.  CGI.  It will be fun, but there really shouldn’t be too many surprises.

Of course, many will flock to this movie because of the action, suspense, humor and thrills.  I also wonder how many of us will flock to this film to see violence?  This is something I’ve noticed about my heart lately.  Many of the scenes I like from the previous JP films include violence.  Think of it this way, what if no one dies in JW?  Do you think you would still like it?  Now, judging by the trailer (and the picture up top), it’s very safe to conclude there will be numerous fatalities.  But, if the credits rolled and everyone walked off the island unscathed, do you think you’d be a little disappointed?  I think so.

There is part of us that’s intrigued by violence.  The emotions that often accompany violence are suspense and thrills, and these get our hearts racing and give us a certain high.  However, there’s also a darker aspect to our hearts, that longs for violence.  And, with JW maybe we just want to see people eaten by dinosaurs in creative ways?  This doesn’t mean we need to feel guilty or abstain from seeing films like this, but we should be aware of it.  I know it’s all for fun, but depictions of image bearers getting thrashed shouldn’t be taken too lightly.

I hope this doesn’t ruin your trip to see JW – I won’t let it ruin mine when I go.  Just be aware of your heart…it’s deceitful above all else.

Leave a Reply

