2015 Oscar Picks

Posted: February 19, 2015 by Blaine Grimes in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

81st Academy Awards¨ Press Kit Images[With the Oscars coming up this Sunday, I thought I’d take some time to share my picks. Before you proceed, however, you’ll want to note a couple of things. First, these are not my predictions of what will win each award, but are instead representative of what I would like to win in its respective category. Second, I have not made a selection for every category—only the “major” ones. Now that the caveats are out of the way, happy reading! Be sure to leave your comments at the end.]

Best Picture: Boyhood

I said elsewhere that it’s “heartbreaking, moving, and provocative—with scope and ambition unlike anything I’ve ever seen.”

Actor in a Leading Role: Michael Keaton

Honestly, this one is a toss-up between Keaton and Carell.

Actress in a Leading Role: Rosamund Pike

I didn’t see any of the other nominated films.

MV5BMTYzNDc2MDc0N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTcwMDQ5MTE@._V1__SX626_SY660_Actor in a Supporting Role: J.K. Simmons

Still, Edward Norton is fantastic in Birdman. Simmons tips the scale because his character is the driving force of Whiplash.

Actress in a Supporting Role: Patricia Arquette

I won’t be sad if Emma Stone pulls it off, though.

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (for Birdman)

Lubezki does a fantastic job executing Alejandro G. Iñárritu’s vision for the film. As always, his use of natural light is impeccable.

Directing: Richard Linklater

Animated Feature Film: How To Train Your Dragon 2

I still can’t believe that The Lego Movie was not nominated.

[So, what are your picks? Did I make a horrible choice? Let me know by commenting below!]

Leave a Reply

