Top 10 Films of 2014

Posted: December 31, 2014 by Blaine Grimes in Uncategorized
Tags:

It’s almost 2015, and year-end lists are all over the internet. So, I thought I’d take a break from taking a break from blogging and give you my list of top 10 films of 2014. Before proceeding, however, allow me to add a few important caveats. First, I have not seen every film released in 2014; There are several films, such as Leviathan and Whiplash, that I suspect would makMV5BMTYzNDc2MDc0N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTcwMDQ5MTE@._V1__SX626_SY660_e this list had I found time to see them. In other words, don’t be too offended if your film isn’t on the list. Also, please keep in mind that this list is not my way of telling you what to watch. There are things in the following movies that may offend a number of people for a number of reasons. Please (as always) be discerning. That being said, here are my top ten films of the year.

Boyhood: It’s heartbreaking, moving, and provocative—with scope and ambition unlike anything I’ve ever seen. I shared some thoughts on it earlier this year.

MV5BMTk0NzMzODc2NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTYzNTM1MzE@._V1__SX1394_SY676_The Babadook: Jennifer Kent makes her feature-length directorial debut in this beautifully (yes, beautifully) crafted horror film. Kent avoids the cheap jump-scares that are indicative of the genre and offers up plenty of subtext instead, making for a truly horrifying meditation on motherhood and human nature.

The Lego Movie: I appreciate a “kid’s” movie that is well-done, fun, and gives you with something to think about when you leave the theater. This one fits the bill.

Foxcatcher: Okay, I was skeptical going into this one because of Steve Carell. He delivers and deserves an Oscar nomination. The supporting cast is great, too. Greig Fraser’s cinematography sets the tone for this bleak, wintry tale.

Birdman: Alejandro González Iñárritu’s film about a washed-up actor (whose only claim to fame is his former role as a superhero called Birdman) who adapts, directs, and stars in a Broadway production of a Raymond Carver short story is very meta. Edward Norton’s first scene in the film is acting at its finest.

Blue Ruin: A revenge tale where revenge isn’t all glory, glamor, and levity.

A Most Wanted Man: Regular readers of RT know that I’m a fan of spy films. I’m also a fan of John le Carré novels. So when an adaptation of one of his novels comes along that features the undeniable talent of the late Philip Seymour Hoffman, it’s bound to end up on this list. You can read some more of my thoughts on A Most Wanted Man here.

manGuardians of the Galaxy: It’s a lot of fun, and it had me “Hooked on a Feelin’” all year long.

Gone Girl: I thought about this movie for weeks after I saw it. Fincher’s direction is solid, but Trent Reznor’s contribution to the soundtrack is outstanding.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier: Back to the spy movies we go. TWS is a really smart comic book movie with plenty of references to the paranoia films of the 1970s (especially 3 Days of the Condor).

Comments
  1. […] said elsewhere that it’s “heartbreaking, moving, and provocative—with scope and ambition unlike anything […]

Leave a Reply

