Top 5 Christmas Movies

Posted: December 11, 2014 by Blaine Grimes in Reel Lists
Tags:

At this station in my life, I usually have some time in December to catch up on movie watching. I always try to see some of those movies that “everyone should see,” as well as those recommended to me by friends. At the same time, however, there are certain movies that I like to revisit as Christmas rolls around each year. With that in mind, here is a list of my top 5 favorite Christmas movies.

Home Alone

This has been my Christmas favorite for years. It still makes me laugh after all these years, but it’s best enjoyed with friends and family. My absolute favorite moment is Daniel Stern’s iconic scream when the tarantula is on his face.

A Christmas Story

MV5BMTI1NzY1NjkyMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjYxNjE0MQ@@._V1__SX1390_SY676_Jean Shepherd’s subtly humorous, silky-smooth voiceover narration as Ralphie helped this film achieve its status as a classic. It’s a very nostalgic movie, and I can’t really explain why I like it so much. Maybe it has something to do with the 24 hour TBS marathon every year. If you see something many, many times over the years, you’re bound to start liking it. Then again, I have friends who despise it for the very same reason.

Elf

It’s equally charming and funny, and it is easily my favorite Will Ferrell movie. If you haven’t seen this one, you now have homework. The dethroning of the mall Santa is priceless.

The Santa Clause

Okay, I’ll admit, it’s a pure nostalgia pick on my my part. I remember watching this movie as a young boy, and revisiting it brings back some good memories. Also, this is the movie that gave me the courage to try eggnog (see the scene below), and my life hasn’t been the same since.

The Bourne Trilogy

bourne1There’s all sorts of problems with this being on the list. First of all, it’s three films instead of one, making my top five a list of seven. Niether are these movies (to my knowledge) set in or around Christmastime. So why are they on my Christmas movie list? Admittedly, there is a Romans 9-like element of the potter having the right right to do as he wills with his own vessels in this decision; but basically, these movies make my list because, for some unknown reason, I watched them with my family one year while I was on Christmas break in high school, and it’s been a yearly tradition ever since (and don’t pretend like your family doesn’t have weird Christmas traditions). Also, they’re just good movies, so why not watch them on one of those cold winter nights?

 

 

Well, that’s my list! And after reflecting on it, it looks like the Christmas movies I like the most are the ones I have enjoyed with my family and friends over the years. That’s why I don’t consider this a definitive list of the five best christmas movies of all time; they’re just the ones I enjoy revisiting every year. How about you? What is your favorite Christmas movie, and why? Sound off in the comments! Finally, be on the lookout for John’s 5 worst Christmas movies. 

Leave a Reply

