Star Wars: A New Hope

Posted: July 7, 2014 by jperritt in Action, Adventure, Classic, Sci-Fi
Tags: , , , , , ,

star-wars-one-sheet-style-aWhat could possibly be said about this movie?  It’s a classic?  It changed my life?  It’s the greatest movie ever?  All of those things are nonetheless true about George Lucas’s ground-breaking, trail-blazingin, sci-fi classic, but there was something truly special about watching it again this past weekend.  Let me back up a bit…

I grew up on Star Wars and Indiana Jones.  I had these movies memorized and, as far as I knew, these were the only series of movies that existed.  When I was younger I would dress up like Indiana Jones and I would quote these films to my fellow classmates on the playground…which explains why I didn’t have any friends (not true).  However, I remember (on more than one occasion) waking up my parents at night because I was traumatized by the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark – what kid witnessing Nazis melting wouldn’t?  All of this to say, I was a big fan of these series of films.

Therefore, showing any of these films to my children was going to be a momentous occasion.  My oldest children are 7 and 4, and they have asked a good bit about Star Wars.  We’ve checked out some SW books at the library and they have some cousins that are pretty obsessed (in a healthy way) with the SW franchise.  While I felt that they were too young for the Indiana Jones franchise (remember the melting Nazis), I felt that they could handle the adventures of Luke and Han with my edits (earmuffs) along the way.  And, since there were so many classic films on TV for the Fourth of July, I thought we would have our own classic celebration in the Perritt household.

So, the iconic title and John Williams’ score exploded on the small screen in our living room and my children will never be the same.  We cheered, we clapped, we were excited to see Darth Vader, as well as, the good guys appear in a story that continues to prove itself as a classic.  All of that to say, it was special.

I enjoyed Sarah holding on to my arm with concern for the rebel alliance.  I loved seeing Samuel smile to see storm troopers and Darth for the first time (not sure if I should be concerned that he likes the bad guys…I like them too).  What was really unique about this experience of Lucas’ classic was that I sort of experienced it for the first time again.

At every moment of concern for the good guys, or each victory of Luke and Han over the villains, I would watch my children witness it without prior knowledge.  I loved waiting in eager anticipation with Sarah, I applauded with Samuel as the Millennium Falcon dominated starships twice its speed.  To put it simply, I shared in a timeless piece of art with my children.

Why is that such a joy?  Why has SW hung on for so long?  Why do countless adults and children still turn to this story for pleasure?  Well, there are many elements we could point to.  Good vs. Evil.  Darth vs. Obi-Wan.  Luke vs. Han.  Whatever it is, this film will continue to live on from generation to generation.  And, I guess the only reason I’m turning this into a post is simply to highlight God’s grace.  I know I could make some parallels, but I just want to be thankful.  God doesn’t owe us anything.  Yes, the gift of his Son is paramount to all gifts.  But, a dimly-lit living room playing a classic sci-fi film with my kids is pretty good too.

Comments
  1. […] months, Star Wars has been discussed quite frequently at the Perritt household.  If you remember, I shared my viewing of the first one a.k.a. Episode IV: A New Hope, with my children over the forth of July […]

Leave a Reply

