Dumb and Dumber To – Too Much!

Posted: June 24, 2014 by jperritt in Comedy
Tags: , , , , , ,

dumb-head

[This post is taking place of a trailer today.  We didn’t want to run this trailer for obvious reasons]

Many of you out there probably saw the film, Dumb and Dumber.  For me, I honestly have no idea how many times I’ve seen the original – I know I saw it twice in the theater.  There are those who doubt it’s a classic and exclaim that it definitely doesn’t serve a sequel, however, I disagree.  At least, that was my initial thought.

It has been two decades since the first film was released, so it’s difficult for me to keep my expectations under control.  Especially since it is one of the best comedies ever made (that’s a fact…not opinion).  Therefore, I had braced myself for disappointment when preparing to watch the premier of the trailer a few weeks ago.  Even still, nothing prepared me for the level of disappointment I would experience.

For those of you who know much about Dumb and Dumber, you know that Peter & Bobby Farrelly directed it.  And, as you may be aware, they were the directors credited for the “gross-out comedy”.  While Dumb and Dumber did well in the theaters – especially because Jim Carrey’s career was just taking off – There’s Something About Mary would go down as their crowning achievement they could never repeat.  If you’ve seen that film, you know there are some very crude aspects to it (and that’s putting it mildly).

Keeping that in mind, I don’t know why I was that surprised by the level of grossness depicted in the trailer to Dumb and Dumber To.  For starters, it’s not like Dumb and Dumber was some bastion of cleanliness.  It had its fair share of crude humor  – Lloyd’s “laxative cocktail” for Harry produced some graphic results.  While the first installment wasn’t in short supply of bathroom humor, there wasn’t anything (I can recall) that was just too far.  However, the sick level the Farrelly’s have taken this sequel seems to be too much – and that’s just the previews!

What this trailer taught me was something Scripture has taught me – mankind is depraved.  Ever since Genesis 3 mankind has continued to display the sinfulness that is present in their hearts.  But, more specifically, a thought that came to mind was something Paul says in Romans 1:30, “inventors of evil”.  You see, years ago when the Farrelly’s directed There’s Something About Mary, they made humorous moments out of shocking the audience with unexpected levels of sickness.  They thought up (invented) new ways of depicting evil that would force a chuckled-gasp from the audience.

And, if 20 years has taught us anything, it’s this, The inventions of evil at the theaters have only gotten darker.  In many ways filmmakers have honed their craft and that is a great thing.  However, in the genre of comedy, the lines are often being pushed farther and farther.  What was funny in the past, is now lame.  What is sick 20 years ago, is now tame.  And, what is shocking now, will one day seem sane.

Since I know the Farrelly bros frequent this site multiple times a day, here is my request to you.  Peter & Bobby,  Dumb and Dumber To is still in the post-production phase.  Which means, there’s still time to cut that scene (if you’ve seen the trailer, you know which one) from the final cut of the film.  Go for timeless!  Keep the tone of the original without going too far.  Maybe the shocking aspect of Dumb and Dumber To, could be keeping the humor tame?  Maybe you guys could pull the reigns back on a genre that was formerly referred to as comedy?  Maybe you guys could focus on punchlines instead of scenes that want to make people puke?

Maybe, however, you guys are simply illustrating another fact to us.  Maybe Dumb and Dumber To will simply be a soon-forgotten illustration of wandering hearts.  Those who go and see this film are wanting laughter.  They’re wanting escape.  They’re wanting to get away from the thoughts and concerns of a broken life for a while.  However, there’s no movie that can bring any audience member complete joy.  Yes, they can receive joy.  Yes, they can give thanks to God for what they see.  But, any attendee of a film will ultimately be disappointed when joy is separated from Christ.  And, what the Farrelly brothers, the sequel, and the audience are all illustrating to us is futility.  They think joy is making comedy more and more depraved, but that’s simply because it can’t do what Christ can.  Creation is not meant to be separated from the Creator, but when it is Dumb and Dumber To is the result – more depravity.

So, that’s my conclusion about the film.  There’s part of me that wants to see it, but that’s just the nostalgic portion of my heart.  In the end I know the only thing this film could do for me anyway is add to my depravity.  And, my heart’s doing pretty well at pumping out depravity on its own.

Leave a Reply

