The Amazing Spider-man 2: Imperfection is Perfection

Posted: June 9, 2014 by jperritt in Action, Adventure, Drama
Tags: ,

The_Amazing_Spider-Man_2_59[There will be MAJOR spoilers; i.e., don’t read it unless you want the movie ruined]

Several weeks ago I was able to go see The Amazing Spider-man 2 and I was impressed.  I’ve heard that critics did not care for it to much, but I haven’t even gotten to read those just yet.  I went in expecting to enjoy it, which isn’t always a sure-fire recipe for an enjoyable experience.  I enjoyed the initial reboot in the Spider-man franchise, with a few exceptions: the over-the-top cheesy love story and the over-the-top cheesy construction worker/wrecking-ball sequence.  Both of these aspects made the film a little less enjoyable, even though it was an enjoyable experience, overall.  Therefore, I was looking forward the second installment of The Amazing Spider-man.

I thought that the second film built off of the first very well.  I also thought that there was enough back story in the film to connect the first two features.  I also appreciated the acting by most of the major cast – especially Harry Obsorn/Green Goblin.  In my opinion, this was one of the better comic book adaptations on the silver screen.

One possible critique of the film (even though I really enjoyed it) was the formulaic nature of it.  And, when I say “formulaic” I mean, it was a lot like The Dark Knight, which is the second Batman (for those of you who use that terminology).  Okay, so SM2 wasn’t on the level of TDK, however, there were some similarities.  Think about it for a minute.  In TDK, Bruce Wayne spends a majority of time attempting to win his love interest.  Peter Parker also spends the majority of his time to win his love interest.  In TDK, Wayne loses allies in Harvey Dent, Parker also lose allies/long-time friends in Harry Osborn.  The Dark Knight was #2 in the Batman franchise, The Amazing Spider-man 2 was also (less creatively named) #2 in the franchise of Spider-man movies.

Most importantly, both films hinged on the fact that the super hero suffers the death of their girl.  Bruce Wayne lost Rachel Dawes and Spider-man lost Gwen Stacy.  Both superheroes were in the process of saving their heroine (even though Batman was tricked by the Joker).  And, both heroes contemplated giving up on the whole super-hero business – I’m the one who killed her!  If it wasn’t for me, she would still be alive.

However, it is (arguably) the death of Rachel and the death of Gwen that really draws us into the story.  (Okay, so the opening sequence of TDK drew me into the story).  But, SM2 really sold me on the death of Gwen.  I wasn’t pulling for her to die.  It’s not like I had a certain dislike for her character (I actually like Emma Stone), I think it was the realism of the whole story.  I mean, this side of heaven we need to expect imperfect endings.  We need to expect sadness.  We need to expect loss.  Every hero is flawed.

Spider-man, as awesome as he is, is imperfect.  He’s disrespectful.  He’s a little too arrogant. And, he shot his web a little too late when it came to saving Gwen (sniff, sniff).  I enjoyed many aspects of SM2, but one of them was this fact – there are no happy endings until Jesus Christ returns (that sequel is going to be AWESOME!).

Leave a Reply

