Reel Thinking: We’re Baaack…Maybe?

Posted: May 27, 2014 by jperritt in Uncategorized

photo 3Reel Thinking is a site designed to illuminate film through the lens of Scripture.  If you’ve been to this site before, you know that we used to post with some regularity.  However, the busyness of life got the best of us (and I even read Kevin DeYoung’s Crazy Busy) and we posted less frequently and then…never.

That being said, I do hope to pick up the torch and post a bit more frequently.  I say this with a certain amount of – are you serious? – running through my mind because my wife and I just had our forth child and I am working on a DMin at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  With all of these plates spinning, I am watching less movies and have less brain-power I can devote to film (not that there was much to begin with).  However, there are a few convictions that are driving me to post and I am listing them below in a particular order.

  1. Humans are created in the image of God – Genesis 1:26-27 explicitly states that we are created in God’s image and because of this, we are to be thinkers.  God made everything by merely speaking and he’s pretty much the most intelligent Being in existence.  Since this is true (and since we are created in His image) we are to be thinkers.  There’s no choice.  Applying this to film, we cannot sit back let film “happen” to us.  That doesn’t mean we cannot simply sit back and enjoy a film, but we need to steward the brain God has given us…our brains aren’t ours to waste.
  2. People like movies – People flock to movies!  Whether it’s at their local cineplex or streaming through Netflix, people consume movies.  Not only are they consuming movies, but they are doing so with little, to no, thought to the above point.  They are using (and in some cases, abusing) the brain God has given them by indulging film with minimal engagement.  And, in some cases, indulging films that shouldn’t be indulged at all.  It is our hope that this site may assist, in some small way, with Christians better engaging in film.
  3. I need to do some good – This might sound like somewhat of a self-serving point, but it is true.  I am created by God to do good works that point others to Him [Eph. 2:10].  I am early into Matthew Perman’s What’s Best Next, but this is a solid point he makes in his book.  The truth is, my life isn’t mine…it’s Gods.  God bought me with a price and I need to live my life in a way that points others to him.  There are others who are better writers and thinkers, but that doesn’t alleviate my responsibility to use my life in the service of Another.

So here’s my conclusion, I need to use the little time I have left on this earth to point people to God through modern day cinema.  Again, I know others who do this more eloquently than I do (Brian Godawa, James Harleman, Mike Cosper, Jerram Barrs & Ted Turnau, just to name a few), but I can still do it in a way that differs from their gifts.  Therefore, I hope to make some posts whenever I can watch a film.

Here is something to keep in mind, however.  At Reel Thinking we have never posted movie “reviews”.  That is something we have been pretty clear on and I will explain what I mean in a follow-up post.  For now, enjoy this post and look forward to some posts with a little more regularity….maybe.

Leave a Reply

