The Hobbit: The Desolation of Dialogue

Posted: December 26, 2013 by jperritt in Action, Adventure, Drama, Fantasy
Tags: , , ,

desolation_of_smaug_poster_largeI got the chance to go see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug opening weekend with my father, and, I must say, I really enjoyed it.  After being a bit disappointed in the first installment, I had lowered my expectations a bit.  I was better prepared for the liberties taken by Peter Jackson in this sequel than I was with the first.  So, while it was different from the book, and while there were some disappointments, I still enjoyed it.  Although it was a bit darker than the book, it did seem to be more on par with the LOTR films.

One small aspect I wanted to focus on today was the dialogue of the film.  While I was a bit disappointed in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, I didn’t hate it.  And, one of my favorite parts, was not the battles scenes, or even the scene of riddles between Bilbo and Golum, rather, it was a line uttered by Bilbo to Thorin.  Although it wasn’t a line in the book (at least, I don’t think it was), this is what Bilbo said:

Look, I know you doubt me, I know you always have. And you’re right… I often think of Bag End. I miss my books, and my armchair, and my garden. See, that’s where I belong, that’s home. That’s why I came back… ’cause you don’t have one, a home. It was taken from you. But I will help you take it back if I can.

Bilbo’s line should resonate with anyone.  Home is something we understand, home is something we all long for, and home is something that has been taken from all of us.  This place is not our home, for the Christian, our home is in the next life.  Therefore, I thought that line was the greatest part of the film.

That being said, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, didn’t have a great line.  Don’t get me wrong, there were some good lines and the dialogue wasn’t necessarily weak, but there wasn’t a “home line” like Bilbo’s from the first one.  And, in my maturation process, I have found that the dialogue is what really matters.  Words are of utmost importance.  Not the great CGI, and it is great.  Not the creative, stylized, action, even though that’s fun.  But, words.  Words are what resonate with me, and I would venture to say that is what should resonate with any Christian.

Dr. Albert Mohler of The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary gave an excellent sermon on the importance of words at the 2012 Together for the Gospel conference.  As he looks to Scripture, we see how vitally important words are.  We may say, actions speak louder than words.  Believers may even exclaim, preach the gospel at all times, if necessary use words.  But, we must understand that words speak much louder than anything else.

While there is no doubt that our actions make many exclamations, it is words that have greater importance, because we are created in the image of a speaking God.  God has been speaking since scene one and it is by words that all things have their existence.  Jesus Christ became the living Word and we have it all recorded in the special revelation of Scripture; i.e., God’s Word.

It may be somewhat of a harsh title to this post, but I thought it conveyed the message I wanted it to.  I did enjoy The Hobbit 2 (much easier to write), but I felt the dialogue was lacking a bit.  What about you?  Did you think the dialogue was lacking?  Do you think the action is more important than the words of a film?  If so, simply type some words in the comment section below to assert the significance of actions over dialogue.

Leave a Reply

