Pain & Gain: Fitness and Faith

Posted: April 26, 2013 by Josh Kwasny in Action, Comedy, True Story
Tags: , , , , ,

22004414_BG1

Pain & Gain opens this weekend. The trailer promises humor, action, and plenty of flexing. I don’t know about you, but physical fitness is a struggle for me. I call my exercise plan the “binge and purge” method.  I exercise pretty consistently for a season and then take a year off – not exactly the most effective way to get or stay in shape.

I am curious to see just how much that fitness plays into this film. It is certainly one of western culture’s top areas of concern.  Just peruse the cable channels to see how many times the P90X or Insanity informercials air.

pain_and_gain

All of this got me thinking about fitness and faith.  Is there a distinctly Christian perspective when in comes to fitness?

My fellow contributor and founder of Reel Thinking, John Perritt, recently wrote a great post about this issue for The Gospel Coalition website (www.thegospelcoalition.org).  Take a moment to check it out here.  Consider it gain with little pain.

Leave a Reply

