This is the last post in our three-part series on trilogies.  We comprised a top 10 list on best trilogies and movies that should have stopped at one installment.  Today and tomorrow we will be looking at films that should have made a sequel.  All of this talk about trilogies was sparked because of the release of The Dark Knight Rises.  A film that could prove to complete one of the best  film trilogies in recent years, if not, of all time.  One may scoff at that, but consider the trilogies that have been made.  It’s difficult to find a trilogy which contains films that are equal, or better, than the initial installment.  Therefore, enjoy our last list of this series on trilogies and look forward to other Reel Lists down the road.

John Perritt’s Top 10:

  1. Willow
  2. Stargate
  3. The Incredibles
  4. Unbreakable
  5. Dumb & Dumber (I know this sequel is almost confirmed)
  6. E.T.
  7. The Last Starfighter
  8. The Goonies
  9. The Breakfast Club
  10. Clue

John Kwasny’s Top 10:

  1. True Lies
  2. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  3. Flash Gordon
  4. Elf
  5. Sahara
  6. Independence Day
  7. The Incredibles
  8. Unbreakable
  9. Finding Nemo
  10. Blade Runner
Comments
  1. Lindsay says:

    It’s been a while since I saw this film, but I seem to remember it ending so “unfinished” that I expected a sequel…Master and Commander: the Far Side of the World.

    • jperritt says:

      Excellent film! I am now jealous that I didn’t have this film on my list. I know there are a series of books and Master and Commander combined two of them. Unfortunately since the film didn’t make much money they decided to stop without completing the series. That was such a great film, I hope they continue the series one day. Thanks for your comments!

  2. John Holm says:

    Found your site a few weeks ago, enjoy it
    This is a great topic. Here are a few more movies with sequel possibilities:
    The Rocketeer
    The Adventures of Tintin
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: (I loved Roald Dahl’s book sequel Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator as a kid.)
    The Black Hole: not a great movie to begin with but has potential)

  3. DustyOldTrail says:

    In order of the-world-owes-it-to-me-because-I-sometimes-buy-the-popcorn-in-the-theater-instead-of-sneaking-it-in-from-outside:

    1. Serenity: cowboys in space you guys. IN SPACE. I want sequels, prequels, more tv episodes, everything. I want Hollywood and Fox to run this so far into the ground that I can spend the rest of my life complaining about how they ran it into the ground. Fanboy-ed pretty hard just then.

    2. Jumper: because teleportation is so much cooler when you’re being chased by Samuel L.

    3. District 9: I love South Africa, I love aliens, I love aliens invading South Africa (wait what?)

    4. Interview with a Vampire: because if Tom Cruise can take his shirt off for Rock of Ages he can pretend to look young enough for a sequel. It wouldn’t even be that hard they have books and everything. (I know for a fact that scientologists can read)

    5. I, Robot: Will Smith wearing converses and fighting robots. You throw Carlton in there and you’ve got yourself a franchise.

  4. DustyOldTrail says:

    Plus Johnny P I don’t really want anymore Stargate. They sorta ran that horse as far as it could take them. 10 seasons and 214 episodes of SG1, 5 seasons and 100 episodes of Atlantis, and 2 seasons and 40 episodes of Universe.

Leave a Reply

