The Grey: Live & Die on This Day

Posted: January 20, 2012 by jperritt in Action, Drama
Tags: , , , , , ,

A man’s man’s movie. Gritty, authentic and real. It’s ‘Dirty Dozen’ good. These are just a few of the comments critics used to describe Liam Neeson’s newest film, The Grey. Yesterday we looked at the idea of survival and how it is a foreign notion to mankind. We were all created to endure forever, therefore, survival was an alien thought to our psyche. This is what makes a film about a bunch of oil drillers fighting against the elements and wolves, resonate among viewers.

However, this got me to thinking, what should a Christian’s response to this scenario be? If I were an oil driller whose plane crashed, should I fight to live? Or should I accept the providence given to me and die? That may not be the easiest question to answer, because what lies on the other side of wolves and ice for me, is a perfect existence with the Father. A place where there are no plane crashes, wolves trying to eat me, or frostbite. Just perfect peace.

Should Christians Long for Death?

Since there are many places in Scripture affirming that the next life for the Christian is infinitely better than our current state, should we be longing to die? We also are told that this life is not our home. Therefore, our home is in another place. Our true life begins at our death, so why not want to experience true life and rest in our true home?

It seems that the apostle Paul was also faced with this dilemma:

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. (Phil. 1:21-23)

Paul knew that being with Christ was far better than any earthly joy or treasure. Believers and unbelievers, there are great things to be enjoyed on this earth, and Christians can actually enjoy those things more fully, however, they are laughable pleasures compared to an eternity with Jesus Christ. For one reason, every earthly joy has an end. The joys of heaven are forever.

Life is joyful but as The Grey illustrates, it has an end and is filled with dangers. So there is a sense in which every Christian should long for death, as Paul even did, but also affirm his words in the verses which followed the above quotation:

But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again. (vs.24-26)

This too, should be our focus. Longing for a perfect eternity, but fulfilling the call God has placed on every Christian while on this earth – making his name glorious! This is our driving force. Just as Ottway’s (Liam Neeson) driving force is to see the love of his life again, a Christians ultimate love is the Lord.

Therefore, the Christian life should not be lived fearing death or longing for death, but using the time we’ve been given for the sake of the Kingdom. If you think about it, death is somewhat of a non-factor for the Christian. Jesus has killed death and, in so doing, has neutralized its effects on us. We should not fear death, it has no mastery over us, and it cannot take anything from us.

Because of the righteous life, death, and resurrection of Christ, death can be mocked. As Paul said, death is gain. Basically, I’m going to preach Christ through my life, and if you kill me, I’ll be with Christ. Praise be to God that we don’t merely survive life but get to enjoy this life and, one day, experience true life.

Comments
  1. […] too long ago I wrote two posts (find them here and here) dealing with themes surrounding Liam Neeson’s new film, They Grey. Those post deal well with […]

Leave a Reply

